client starts a silent update prior to its next launch and then restarts
itself. Should the silent update fail, the client offers a manual download.
-When you upgrade from 1.7 you should restart Windows to ensure that all the new
-features in 1.8 are enabled.
-
.. note:: Administrative privileges are required to perform the update.
Mac OS X
Preventing Automatic Updates in Windows Environments
^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
-You can prevent automatic updates from occuring in Windows environments using
-one of two methods. The first method allows users to override the automatic
-update check mechanism whereas the second method prevents any manual overrides.
+Users may disable automatic updates by adding this line to the [General]
+section of their ``owncloud.cfg`` files::
+
+ skipUpdateCheck=true
+
+Windows administrators have more options for preventing automatic updates in
+Windows environments by using one of two methods. The first method allows users
+to override the automatic update check mechanism, whereas the second method
+prevents any manual overrides.
To prevent automatic updates, but allow manual overrides:
Because the Linux client does not provide automatic updating functionality, there is no
need to remove the automatic-update check. However, if you want to disable it edit your desktop
-client configuration file, ``$HOME/.local/share/data/ownCloud/owncloud.cfg``. Add these lines:
+client configuration file, ``$HOME/.local/share/data/ownCloud/owncloud.cfg``.
+Add these lines::
[General]
skipUpdateCheck=true
-
The red circle with the white "x" indicates a configuration error, such as an
incorrect login or server URL.
-Using the Right-Click Menu
---------------------------
+Systray Icon
+------------
-A right-click on the icon opens a menu for quick access to multiple operations.
+A right-click on the systray icon opens a menu for quick access to multiple
+operations.
.. image:: images/menu.png
:alt: the right-click sync client menu
-The Desktop Client menu provides the following options:
+This menu provides the following options:
* Quick access to your accounts
* Recent Changes, showing latest activities
* Status of your client version (whether it is up to date)
* Help menu
-* An option to log out of all of your accounts at once
+* An option to log in or log out of all of your accounts at once
* Quit ownCloud
-Using the Account Settings Window
----------------------------------
-
-.. index:: account settings, user, password, Server URL
-
-Click **Settings** in the right-click menu to see a summary of your ownCloud
-account settings, or left-click your systray icon. This shows which ownCloud
-account you are connected to, (or accounts, if you have more than one) your
-quota status, and a window for managing your synchronization settings.
+A left-click on your systray icon opens the desktop client to the account
+settings window.
.. image:: images/client6.png
:alt: Account settings window
+Configuring ownCloud Account Settings
+^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
+
+.. index:: account settings, user, password, Server URL
+
At the top of the window are tabs for each configured sync account, and three
others for Activity, General and Network settings. On your account tabs you
have the following features:
* Connection status, showing which ownCloud server you are connected to, and
your ownCloud username.
* An **Account** button, which contains a dropdown menu with **Add New**,
- **Sign Out**, and **Remove**.
+ **Sign In/Sign Out**, and **Remove**.
* Used and available space on the server.
* Current synchronization status.
* **Add Folder Sync Connection** button, which is active only when you have
**Open Folder** opens a file explorer window displaying the client-side folder
that is being synced.
-**Choose What to Sync** opens the folder sync tree view. From there you can
-choose to sync all or only some of the folders in the folder tree.
+**Choose What to Sync** opens the folder sync tree view. Use this to sync all
+or only some of the folders in the folder tree.
-**Pause Sync** pauses sync operations for just this folder sync connection
-without making any changes to your account.
-**Resume Sync** resumes sync operations for this folder sync connection.
+**Pause Sync** pauses sync operations without making any changes to your
+account. It will continue to update file and folder lists, without
+downloading or updating files. To stop all sync activity use **Remove Sync**.
-**Remove Sync** removes this folder sync connection without removing the
-account. If you want to synchronize the folder tree again then click the
-**Add Folder Sync Connection** button, and re-select the folder tree that
-you want to sync.
+**Resume Sync** resumes sync operations.
+
+**Remove Sync** removes the sync connection without removing the account. This
+stops all sync activity, including file and folder list updates. If you want to
+synchronize the folder tree again then click the **Add Folder Sync Connection**
+button, and re-select the folder tree that you want to sync.
.. image:: images/client-7.png
:alt: Extra options for sync operations
+
+Activity Window
+---------------
The Activity window contains the log of your recent activities, including files
-downloaded and deleted, and which local folders your files went into.
+downloaded and deleted, which local folders your files went into, and files not
+synced.
+
+.. image:: images/client-8.png
+ :alt: Activity windows logs all server and client activities.
+
+General Window
+--------------
The General window has configuration options such as **Launch on System
Startup**, **Use Monochrome Icons**, and **Show Desktop Notifications**. This
files editor, and **Ask confirmation before downloading
folders larger than [folder size]**.
-Multi-Account Support
----------------------
-
-You may now configure multiple ownCloud accounts in your desktop sync client.
-Simply click the **Account** > **Add New** button, and then follow the account
-creation wizard. The new account will appear as a new tab in the settings
-dialog, where you can adjust its settings at any time.
-
-Editing Ignored Files
----------------------
+.. image:: images/client-9.png
+ :alt: General window contains configuration options.
-The Ignored Files Editor can be opened by clicking on the button in the General
-tab of the settings dialog. The settings apply to all configured accounts. The
-:guilabel:`Ignored Files Editor` provides a list of files that are ignored
-(that is, not synchronized) by the client and server during synchronizations.
-You may add additional files or directories that you want to exclude from the
-synchronization process. In addition to using standard characters, the Ignored
-Files Editor enables you to use wild cards (for example, using an asterisk ‘*’
-to indicate multiple characters or a question mark ‘?’ to indicate a single
-character).
+Adding New Accounts
+^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
-For additional information see `Using the Ignored Files
-Editor`_
+You may configure multiple ownCloud accounts in your desktop sync client. Simply
+click the **Account** > **Add New** button to add new account, and then follow
+the account creation wizard. The new account will appear as a new tab in the
+settings dialog, where you can adjust its settings at any time. Use **Account**
+> **Remove** to delete accounts.
Using the Network Window
------------------------
You might have some local files or directories that you do not want to backup
and store on the server. To identify and exclude these files or directories, you
-can use the *Ignored Files Editor*.
+can use the *Ignored Files Editor* (General tab.)
.. image:: images/ignored_files_editor.png